Wood Stock Bedding Question.

CMBTshooter

Handloader
Jun 8, 2011
I have my dad's Remington 700 in .300 Win Mag now and I want to bed it. I'm going to use devcon steel bedding and I'm really comfortable with the process but I'm wondering if pillar bedding would be absolutely necessary. I've never done a wood stock before so I have no idea.

IMHO, pillar bedding is at least half the gain with bedding, especially the rear pillar.

And especially on wood or plastic stocks...the pillars prevent compression of the stock.

With a good fiberglass stock pillars are not so important (matter of opinion really, but I tend to agree with it)

Not as necessary if you use a laminated stock, as it's stronger than regular wood.

If you decide not to use pillars and it's a regular wood stock, just realize that you still have a 25-35 in-lb limit for your action screws. I've bedded into a wood stock, and just used factory torque settings, as I was trying to prevent movement in the stock more than anything else.

I split two factory stocks longwise between the magazine hole and the recoil lug cutout, with my 300. I bought a Chet Brown composite, then bedded it. I think pillars are a great idea. They may even help the accuracy. My best groups, sub .250, have been with H-4350 and Sierra Matchking, bullets. The 180 Partition works wonders with this cartridge. Good luck!!!!!!!! The 300 WM is one of the best. !!

I think it depends.
If your wood stock has been exposed to a lot of solvent or oils over the years then pillar bedding is absolutely necessary. The wood will be softer and the fibers will compress easier, which plays havoc with screw torque settings and being able to repeat the setting each time the action is removed.
Otherwise, no, I don't think pillars are necessary for optimum accuracy. I think the quality of your bedding job is the key.