Chronograph Recommendations

killdeernow

Beginner
Dec 20, 2006
So, as I told you a few times, I’m new to reloading (again…long story). I figured if I’m going to attempt it again, I was going to do it right. To do it right, I needed a chrono. I went to Midway and started researching etc. etc. and found that the Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph had 82 five star reviews out of 96 at the time of purchase. Can’t beat that right?

Well, I went to the range to test 15 223 WSSM loads I cooked up and I used my new chrono. I followed the instructions and put the chrono about 12 feet away from the muzzle. 1st shot didn’t register, 2nd shot didn’t register, 3rd shot registered…yeah! Cleaned rifle, repeated procedure and none registered.

So, I moved the chrono closer the next few shots. Then it was erratic. At first I thought it was me and my crappy reloading techniques so I put some factory loads through it. Again, erratic…I’m talking over 1500 FPS erratic!

I finished at the range and went home and vented to the wife (better than a shrink). She called Midway (I didn’t know this) and ended up getting a refund. Score one for Midway, GREAT PLACE TO DO BUSINESS!!!!

Now for you guys: what chrono do you guys recommend? Thanks,

I use the Shooting Chrony Beta Master and am satisfied with it. There are better instruments out there, but not for the money. The only time mine gives me any problem is when the sun is very low on the horizon. Other than that it all peaches. I really like having the readout and controls on the bench right in front of me too.

Rob. I run the Beta Master. Not the best but works well for me if used in good conditions.

I have two Shooting Chrony Beta Masters and a Oehler 35. All work well. Muzzle blast can be a problem with the Chronys if they are too close. Otherwise, they have never disappointed me.